Which country has the most lightning stripes?

In 2021, Brazil was the leading country with the highest number of lightning events, which amounted to a sum of 225,607,575 lightning strikes, including both in-cloud and cloud-to-ground lightning. Ranking second was the United States, where some 194,549,696 lightning events were recorded that year.

---

Lake Maracaibo in Venezuela is the place on Earth that receives the most lightning strikes. Massive thunderstorms occur on 140-160 nights per year with an average of 28 lightning strikes per minute lasting up to 10 hours at a time.