Do you get paid to be in the army?

Everyone on active duty receives base pay. The amount depends on your rank, and how many years you've been in the military. For example, the lowest ranking enlisted member—someone in the paygrade of E-1—with less than two years of service, makes a base pay of $1,681 per month.