What is an a. r. fifteen assault rifle?

The A.R. 15 is not an assault rifle. The a.r. stands for ArmaLite Rifle. ArmaLite was the original manufacturer of the rifle. The a.r. 15 is a sporting semiautomatic rifle. It can't fire any faster than any other civilian rifle or handgun. The M 16 military counterpart is an assault rifle.