Who is sherlock's female adversary?

In the fictional Sherlock Holmes stories written by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Holmes has a female adversary named Irene Adler. In the BBC tv series Sherlock, Irene Adler turns out to be his nemesis, Moriarty.