Why do they call it horse power?

When the steam engine began to do work of horses in the mines during the early 1800s, the mine owners began to ask how many horses an engine would replace .James Watt, who invented steam engines, figured out a mathematical way to equate horses to engine power. Thus the term horsepower was invented