Who created the reuben sandwich?

There is controversy around the origin of the reuben. One story says that a chef named Bernard Schimmel first made the sandwich for a card player named Reuben Kulakofsky. Reuben Kulakofsky's family holds that it was Reuben himself that first made the sandwich with ingredients brought by Bernard.