Can you put bananas in the microwave?

Pop Them in the Microwave. You can zap firm yellow bananas to soft ripeness in just a few minutes. ... Poke unpeeled bananas all over with a fork or knife. Then put them on a paper towel or plate and microwave on high for 30 seconds at a time, repeating until they're as soft as you want them.