What's the difference between a slag mite and a stalactite?

Stalactites and stalagmites are both formations made from minerals deposited by flowing water. Stalactites grow down from the ceiling ("stick tight to the ceiling"), while stalagmites are accumulated up from the ground ("might reach the ceiling").