Why doesn't america use the metric system?

France was the first nation to go all metric, in 1795. Thomas Jefferson considered metric for the US, but decided that it would be "too French". But, America does use the metric system, for some things. Soft drinks and hard alcoholic beverages, for example, are sold in metric-sized containers.