What percentage of american households have dogs?

The American Pet Products Association (APPA) found that 68 percent of U.S. households owned some sort of pet in 2016 Among those pets were about 90 million dogs and 94 million cats, the group said.

---

Nearly 40% of households in the United States own at least 1 pet dog. 40% of the dogs in shelters are purebreds. 44 percent of dog owners adopted their precious pups from a rescue or shelter.