What is a competitive oscar?

All the awards given at the Oscars are considered competitive Oscars. There are now 24 competitive Oscar categories, and a handful of special-recognition Oscars every year.

---

There are now 24 competitive Oscar categories & a handful of special-recognition Oscars every year. After all the ballots are in &the votes are counted it all comes down to the big night itself. The Oscars is a night of honoring big-budget entertainment & it is big-budget entertainment event