What is the origin of pizza?

In the year 1889, King Umberto I and Queen Margherita, landed in Italy, where they were honored by baker Raffaele Esposito from Naples, whom was asked to make them a pizza. He topped the pizza with fresh tomatoes, mozzarella cheese, and basil. That pizza is still known as Pizza Margherita today.