What are we going to mars?

On July 20, 1976, the Viking 1 lander separated from the orbiter, touched down on the Chryse Planitia region of Mars, and sent back the first close-up photographs of the rust-colored Martian surface. NASA is now hoping to land the first human being on Mars by the 2030's.