How long is cheese good after expiration date?

Milk should last 5 to 7 days after the sell by date, while cheeses can range up to two weeks after the sell by date for soft cheeses such as cream cheese or Brie. For harder cheeses such as cheddar or Romano, shelf life is anywhere from three to six months after the sell by date, if stored properly.