Where does the phrase pay the piper come from?

The phrase comes from the fable of the Pied Piper of Hamelin. According to the myth, a piper was hired to clear out the rats from the village of Hamelin. After he did so, he was not paid for his work. His revenge for the lack of payment was to steal all the children of the town.