What's the difference between milk chocolate and semi sweet chocolate?

Milk chocolate is chocolate that has milk solids added to lighten the color and the taste. Milk chocolate is often sweetened with milk sugar and/or other sugars. Semi-sweet chocolate is chocolate to which sugar has been added but not over sweetened like a lot of candy.