How do you know if fish fillet is done?

When the flesh or meat of the fish is opaque, no longer translucent, the fish is done. Gently separate the fillet at the thickest part, if the meat is opaque, it's done. Most fish do not require any lengthy cooking times. Cooking times will vary between type of fish and cooking methods.