How fast can a comet go?

It depends on where the comet is in its orbit at given point. Orbiting bodies travel faster at the point of the orbit closest to the central mass. For example, Halley's comet's relative velocity as it passes Earth is about 70 kilometers per second, 9 times faster than an object in low earth orbit.