Can paper catch on fire in the microwave?

A microwave oven has no effect on plain, dry paper. A microwave will dry out wet paper. Metalic inks on paper will heat and possibly flash or arc over catching fire. Microwave popcorn can smoke badly if left in too long. The paper bag for microwave popcorn is treated to prevent fires.