What's the definition of batter?

Batter has multiple meanings such as: 1. Gooey mixture used to make cakes, pancakes, and pastries (noun) 2. Baseball players trying to hit the ball (noun / person) 3. To beat someone badly (verb) 4. To censure, criticize, or defeat severely (verb) 5. Gradual backward slope in a wall/structure (noun)