What can you substitute in a recipe for an egg?

For a fluffy texture in cakes and pancakes, use 1 teaspoon baking soda combined with a tablespoon of white vinegar in place of the egg. One quarter cup of mashed ripe avocado or one quarter cup applesauce can be used in quick breads, but will make them very moist.