How are scoville units measured?

The Scoville scale is a measurement of the pungency (spiciness or "heat") of chili peppers, as recorded in Scoville Heat Units (SHU), based on the concentration of capsaicinoids. The range of pepper heat is from 100 or less (sweet peppers) to over 3 million (Pepper X).