When was the last case of polio?

Polio has never been eradicated, though there were only 22 cases reported in 2017, mostly in Pakistan, Nigeria and Afghanistan. Vaccines prevent cases for life.

---

The last case of wild poliovirus acquired in the United States was in 1979