How does an organ work?

An organ is composed of multiple "pipes" with a sculpted slots part way along the length. Sound is based on length and width of the pipe as well as the location of the slot from end where the air enters. Each pipe is unique and sized for a different note. A keyboard controls what pipe is activated.