How fast does a lightning bolt go?

The return stroke (the current that cause the visible flash) moves upward at a speed of about 320,000,000 ft per second or about 220,000,000 miles per hour (about 1 by 3 the speed of light). In comparison, the sound of thunder travels at about 1100 ft per second or about 750 miles per hour.