Why is the united states running out of coins?

When the U.S. has a coin shortage, a main reason is often that people tend to not use most of the change they receive, but rather save it at home, and continue to spend paper money only. It is estimated there would be a surplus of coins if the public cashed in all the change kept in their homes.