How many north american colonies rebelled against great britain in seventeen seventy six?

13 colonies. In April of 1775, a group of colonists fought against the British army in the Battles of Lexington and Concord. In 1775, the Second Continental Congress decided to form a Continental Army, which consisted of citizens from the 13 colonies.