What's an example of gravitational potential energy?

Some examples of gravitational potential energy include A raised weight, water that is behind a dam, a car that is parked at the top of a hill, a yoyo before it is released, river water at the top of a waterfall, a book on a table before it falls, & a child at the top of a slide.

---

Gravitational potential energy is the energy stored in an object above the earth’s surface. The higher the objects height, the greater the potential energy. An example is the energy stored in a rollercoaster at the top of the hill.