What is your thyroid?

The thyroid gland is an endocrine gland in your neck. It makes two hormones that are secreted into the blood: thyroxine (T4) and triiodothyronine (T3). These hormones are necessary for all the cells in your body to work normally.

---

The thyroid is a butterfly shaped gland in your neck, sitting in front of the windpipe, just below the Adam's apple. The thyroid produces hormones that affect the speed of your metabolism.