Is there a difference between canola oil and vegetable oil?

Yes, while Canola oil is a vegetable oil also, it is made specifically from rapeseed. It is considered a better choice than general vegetable oils, due to its lower saturated fats. General Vegetable oil is made from blends of different oils like: canola, corn, soybean, safflower, palm, and sunflower