Who was the first president to be inaugurated in washington d. c.?

Thomas Jefferson was the first president to take the oath of office in Washington DC. He was inaugurated on March 4, 1801.

---

President Thomas Jefferson was the first to take the oath of office in Washington, D.C. when he was inaugurated on March 4, 1801. He broke precedent by walking to and from his ceremony. The first two presidents, George Washington and John Adams, rode in carriages.