What's the thing that hangs down in the backyard throat called?

Palatine uvula, or simply uvula, is a little tear-drop shaped tissue dangling at the back of the mouth. A part of soft palate, it helps block food & liquid from getting up the nose when swallowing. It makes saliva helping lubricate the throat, triggers a gag reflex to prevent choking, & aids speech.