What is vanilla bean?

Vanilla is the fruit of an orchid plant, which grows in the form of a dark brown bean pod that is long and skinny. Vanilla orchids are grown in tropic climates, including Mexico, Tahiti, Reunion, Mauritius, Indonesia, Uganda, and Tongo. Three-fourths of the world's supply comes from Madagascar.