When do you cut back rose bushes?

In general, you will be pruning rose bushes just before the plant breaks dormancy after spring's final frost. This will be early in the year in warm climates & anytime between January & April in cold climates. If it's old roses you are tending, prune after blooming. They flower on last year's wood.