How fast can the fastest turtle run?

The average turtle "runs" about 3 to 4 miles per hour. They walk at a rate of a little over 1 mile per hour. Turtles are much faster in the water than they are on land. Speed depends on the type of turtle and how old the turtle is. Turtles are usually faster than tortoises, even on land.