Is garlic and herb or a vegetable?

Garlic doesn't fit either one of those categories. So it's probably most accurate to call garlic a vegetable, even though it's hardly ever eaten on its own. In this sense, garlic is most similar to onions and shallots, although ultimately garlic belongs in a category all its own.