When was the trail of tears date?

In the winter of 1831, under threat of invasion by the U.S. Army, the Choctaw became the first nation to be expelled from its land altogether. The Trail of Tears had begun, and by 1850, tens of thousands of Native Americans had been driven across the Mississippi to designated Indian Territory.