How long can you keep your eyes open?

You can’t keep your eyes open more than a short time. Our eyes need to be kept lubricated with tears and we normally blink frequently without consciously thinking about it. Eyes lacking sufficient tear fluid, sometimes from blocked tear ducts, need to be lubricated with artificial tears.