What are the grades of usda beef?

There are eight beef quality grades: Prime, Choice, Select, Standard, Commercial, Cutter & Canner. There are eight beef quality grades. The grades are based on two main criteria: the degree of marbling (intramuscular fat) in the beef, and the maturity (estimated age of the animal at slaughter).