What's the difference between laid off and furloughed?

Laid off means you don't have a job anymore. A furlough is a temporary, albeit it might be a long term, absence.

---

While laid-off workers are sometimes rehired, the term usually refers to a permanent break in employment. A furlough, is typically for a shorter, fixed period of time. Workers are told to stop coming in to work or that their hours will be cut back.