Where does the term scaredy cat come from?

Some cats are naturally scared and are easily frightened like the Calico, and when the get really scared they "jump", other cats raise their backs and fur like the famous black Halloween cats you see in design. These are real visible signs of fright, we see this, remember and apply it to people