What would happen if there were no clouds?

Without clouds, there would be no rain. Without rain, there would be no plants. That means, no animals either. Without clouds, the entire earth would become like the Sahara desert, except for the polar ice caps. Even the ice caps would eventually disappear without cloud-borne snow to replenish them.