What is the difference between steel cut oatmeal and regular oatmeal?

Steel-cut oats are the whole oats (groats) that have been cut. On the other hand, regular (rolled) oats resemble thin, large flakes. Once cooked, steel-cut oats look like wild rice, and rolled oats look like baby food.