How many bones do you have when you're a kid?

An adult has 206 bones, but a newborn baby has nearly 300 bones in their body. This is because babies have more flexible cartilage (a firm tissue softer than bone) in the body. As the child grows, some of the cartilage hardens and turns to bone, and some bones fuse together.