What's a big name in violins?

A Stradivarius is one of the violins, violas, cellos and other string instruments built by Antonio Stradivari, during the 17th and 18th centuries. According to their reputation, the quality of their sound has defied attempts to explain or equal it. The fame of Stradivarius instruments is widespread.