What are dotsons bred for?

The name “Dachshund” is actually German for badger dog. Dachshunds' short legs keep them low to the ground to track scents, and their narrow bodies allow them to crawl into burrows, looking for badgers. Despite their small size, Dachshunds are brave and fierce.