Why is the leaning tower of pisa called the leaning tower of pisa?

The Leaning Tower of Pisa is a freestanding bell tower located in the city of Pisa in Italy. Like its name suggest, it actually does lean to one side. The tower started to lean during construction because the foundation was built on soft ground that had difficulty supporting the weight.

---

The tower of pisa is called the leaning tower of pizza because it actually does lean to one side. It was built on a shallow foundation and sand-clay soil. It started to lean when construction on the third floor began. Construction was stopped and resumed years later. It has many supports.