What's the u. v. explosion?

For just the second time ever, astrophysicists have spotted a spectacular flash of ultraviolet, or UV light accompanying a white dwarf explosion. An extremely rare type of supernova, the event is poised to offer insights into long-standing mysteries, including what causes white dwarfs to explode.