What's the difference between a palm tree and a coconut tree?

Because coconuts come from palm trees, most people assume that a palm tree and a coconut tree are the same thing. The fact is that they're two different species of the same tree. A coconut tree is a type of palm tree, but not all palm trees are coconut trees.