When was the first i. u. d. installed?

The first IUD was developed in 1909 by the German physician Richard Richter, of Waldenburg. His device was made of silkworm gut and was not widely used. Ernst Gräfenberg, another German physician created the first Ring IUD, Gräfenberg's ring, made of silver filaments.